The Broken Road – From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos

Patrick Leigh Fermor


Nicht vorrätig

Email me when back in stock

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • 2014
  • ISBN 9781848547520
  • 384 pages
  • Paperback
  • 20 × 13 × 3 cm

A Time of Gifts and Between the Woods and the Water were the first two volumes in a projected trilogy that would describe the walk that Patrick Leigh Fermor undertook at the age of eighteen from the Hook of Holland to Constantinople. ‚When are you going to finish Vol. III?‘ was the cry from his fans; but although he wished he could, the words refused to come. The curious thing was that he had not only written an early draft of the last part of the walk, but that it predated the other two. It remains unfinished but The Broken Road – edited and introduced by Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper – completes an extraordinary journey.

Following his walk across Europe, Patrick Leigh Fermor (1915-2011) lived and travelled in the Balkans and Greek Archipelago. He joined the Irish Guards and during the occupation of Crete led the party that captured the German commander. He was awarded the DSO and OBE.

Das könnte dir gefallen...