THIS BERLIN MURMURATION - a celebratory launch of These Birds of Temptation— intercalations 06

Event finishedSunday, Jun 5, 2022 at 4:00 PM Sunday, Jun 5, 2022 at 8:30 PM
2022_zabriskie_these birds of temptation_k verlag

co-published by K. Verlag & Haus der Kulturen der Welt
hosted by Zabriskie Buchladen

with performances, readings, music, and other avifaunal excitements composed by contributors to the publication, including Anna-Sophie Springer, David Rothenberg, Barbara Marcel, Lima Vafadar alongside other special guests …


About the book:
These Birds of Temptation
intercalations 6

intercalations 6 … is a queer refrain, populated with both acoustical lines of flight and the sorrows of captivity, wherein the reader-as-exhibition-viewer learns that the adventure of ornithology is as preoccupied with the evolutionary meaning of allopreening among avifauna as it is with their taxonomical domination. ── With contributions creating a kaleidoscopic murmuration of minor ornithologies, including pieces on feathers, flight, song, loss, escape, and evasion, as well as a series of poetic reflections, short stories, and theoretical reflections on birds from Aristotle to Anaïs Nin, among many others.

When we first began to plan this volume back in 2013, we hadn’t expected that it would become a collection so deeply concerned with extinction. Looking at it now, in 2022, this of course makes utmost sense. The diverse contributions in These Birds of Temptation interrogate the role of art and poetry in times of ecological collapse and offer reflections on how birds matter in our making sense of worlds and the earth. Birds, then, are not treated as passive objects but are considered as multi-dimensional beings with inherited and unfolding “life ways,” a concept by environmental philosopher and fellow bird friend, Thom van Dooren.

These Birds of Temptation. Edited by Anna-Sophie Springer & Etienne Turpin. With contributions by Eddie Bartley, Ari Bayuaji, Bik Van der Pol, David Bonter, Xavi Bou, Tiffany Bozic, Lêna Bùi, Bertolt Brecht, Wallace Craig, Mark Dion, Andreas Doepke, Jimmie Durham, Anne Geene, Sophia Gräfe, Mary Ellen Hannibal, Nina Katchadourian, Bernie & Kat Krause, Barbara Marcel, Anaïs Nin, Arjan de Nooy, Megan Prelinger, John Paul Ricco, David Rothenberg, Juliana Spahr, Bruno Schulz, Anna-Sophie Springer, Frank Steinheimer, Yoko Tawada, Anna Tsing, Etienne Turpin, and Francesca Woodman. Design in collaboration with Katharina Tauer.

Zurück zum Blog